Herschel Candy Co. produces a single product: chocolate almond bar that sells for $0.40 per bar. Variable costs for each bar (sugar, chocolate, almonds, wrapper and labor) total $0.25. Total Mo. Fixed costs are $60,000. Last month, bar sales reached 1 million. Herschel’s President wants to increase company’s profitability by following options:
1) increase advertising
2) Increase quality of bar’s ingredients and simultaneously increase selling price
3) Increase selling price with no change in ingredients
a) Sales mgr. is confident intensive advertising campaign will double sales volume. If co.’s president goal is to increase this month’s profits by 50% over last month’s, what is max. amt. that can be spent on advertising that doubles sales volume?
b) Assume company increases quality of ingredients, thus increasing variable costs to $.30 per bar. By how much must selling price per unit be increased to maintain same breakeven point in units?
c) Assume next that company has decided to increase its selling price to $0.50 per bar with no change in advertising or ingredients. Compute sales volume in units that would be needed at new price for company to earn same profit as it earned last month.